Pray For Men Who Are Willing To Go

This is from a devotion from a weekly men’s group I do each Tuesday morning. For the past few weeks we have been praying for specific things in the church. 
5 Then I said, “Woe is me, for I am ruined! Because I am a man of unclean lips, And I live  among a people of unclean lips; For my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.” 6 Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a burning coal in his hand, which he had taken from the altar  with tongs. 7 He touched my mouth with it and said, “Behold, this has touched your lips;  and your iniquity is taken away and your sin is [a] forgiven.” 8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?” Then I said, “Here am I. Send me!”  Isaiah 6:5-8

As a church and Disciples of Christ we have been given a command to go out and tell others about the saving grace of Christ. We are to take the gospel to all nations. We can only do this if  we have people who are willing to stand up and say “Here am I. Send Me.” This is what Isaiah  did. God called him and then qualified him for service and Isaiah stood up and said I will go for  you Lord.  

Isaiah starts out recording a vision that he had been given. This vision was intended to confirm his faith. God was about to give him a task to complete. It was not going to be an easy journey  and God wanted Isaiah to know that He was with Isaiah. When God calls us to do something He is with us. God will not leave us when we are doing His work. God created each of us for a  purpose. When God says go do it, are you going to say send me or do not send me? 

We see that Isaiah started with excuses why he could not go do what God was about to tell him to do. Isaiah said I am a man of unclean lips. We can look at this statement a few ways. Isaiah  might be saying he is sinful because he has not spoken against the sin that was taking place in  front of him. It might also be that Isaiah was saying that he was a sinner and not worthy of the  honor of doing God’s work.  

We see all throughout the bible where God took people that had shady pasts and then used them for His glory. One of Satan’s biggest lies is that we cannot be used for God because of our past. We allow Satan to remind us of our past and that takes our focus off of what God is trying to do in our lives currently. Then we are convinced that our lips are unworthy to take God’s holy name to other people.

Isaiah also says that he lives among people with unclean lips. We also live among people that have unclean lips. Many people confess to know Christ while many others do not believe in  Christ. These people that say God is not real have unclean lips and that should bring us to  sorrow. We should be concerned and heartbroken with this.  

God heard Isaiah’s concerns about being unclean but God had a greater plan for him. The seraphim flew down with a burning coal and touched the lips of Isaiah. The seraphim were  taking away the uncleanliness of Isaiah’s lips. God wanted Isaiah to handle a mission, Isaiah felt he was not qualified; God cleaned him so that he could handle the mission. Just like with us if  God calls us He will make a way for us to be able to handle it.  

Then Isaiah heard the voice of the Lord saying who shall I send and who will go. We might not here an audible voice like Isaiah heard but God still speaks to us in many ways. How can we  expect God to speak through us if we have never heard God speak to us? We need to be open to  what the Holy Spirit is doing and telling us. God might be nudging us to go do something and it up to us to do what God tells us to do. 

This was a very special and holy time between God and Isaiah. God is telling Isaiah I have a plan for you. There was a lot of spiritual deliberation going on between the two. We also should
spend a lot of time in prayer when God is sending us out. When we send out a minister or  missionary there should be a clear calling on that person’s life. Disciples should also pay  attention to God’s calling on their lives and make sure that they are doing what God has called  them to do.  

After God asks the two questions, Isaiah proudly proclaimed five words. He said ‘here I am, send me.” Isaiah made himself available. He told God I am willing to go. Isaiah knew he had a  clear calling on his life. Isaiah took it one step farther. He then tells God to send him. We need  more people in the church who are willing to stand up and say these five words: here I am send me.  

Take away:

1. When God has a plan for you, He will make a way.

2. We have to stop making excuses when God says do something.

3. We need to pray that we have people who are willing to stand up and say send me lord. 

Leave a Reply

