#SyrianRefugees 

“The King will answer and say to them, ‘Truly I say to you, to the extent that you did it to one of these brothers of Mine, even the least of them, you did it to Me.’”

Matthew 25:40 NASB

I have been reading tweets this afternoon about the refugees. I have been looking at pictures on Instagram. There is one that really got to me. It was a young boy approximately 8 years old. The boy was in bad shape. He has a bandage around his arm and chest. He has wounds on his face. He was obviously crying. He was allegedly from Northern Syria.  

I see a lot of people on social media who do not want the refugees. Many governors do not want them in their states. Many countries do not want them. I thought about it and I was in agreement at first. Then I thought about it and this is not the way Jesus would react. 

They are all children of God. They all deserve safety from terrorism. They deserve to be in an area where they can provide for their family. We as Americans love our safety. 

Our country is built on the fact that we care about humanity. Our country was built on human rights. Why would we deny basic human rights of someone because of their nationality or religion? Wasn’t it Jesus that went up to the Samaritan woman? This was a big culture sin. Jesus did not care. 

I know that people will say these people might be terrorist. They might be, but I doubt it. If Christians have this mindset how do we evangelize. We can never reach someone with the gospel if we are afraid of them. 

Leave a Reply

