Are You #Angry this Morning? 

This morning as I was driving to work I noticed a driver in front of me who appeared really angry while driving. She was banging on the steering wheel and throwing her hands up while sitting at the red light. I noticed she was on the phone so I do not know if she was angry with that person or about her drive. At first I thought this lady was funny, then I thought do I look this ridiculous when I get angry. 

I started thinking about all the times I get angry thoughout the day. If you are honest with yourself there are probably things that get you upset each day. Anger is a real problem for some people. It’s not a laughing matter and I felt bad for laughing at this lady. 

I started thinking about what someone can do when they are angry. These are things I have heard a lot and I think could be useful for someone. 

Things to do when you feel yourself getting angry:

1. Stop and take a deep breath

When you feel yourself getting upset just stop and take a deep breath (or several). This will help you relax. When you relax hopefully you will be calmer and and can respond in a more rational manner. This could keep you from lashing out in an inappropriate way. 

2. Analyze the situation 

This is big. After you take a deep breath analyze the situation. Figure out what is going on. Look at the big picture. Look at all sides. You maybe getting mad because you do not have all the facts. There is always more than one side to a story. 

3. Ask yourself is this something I can control 

Once you have all the facts ask yourself is this something I have control over? If yes then fix it in a rational manner. If no then why are you worried about it? There is no reason worrying about something you cannot control. It just gets you upset. 

4. Can I accomplish anything being angry

If you are angry can you get anything accomplished? Maybe or maybe not. You might be able to use your anger to get a problem fixed. The odds are not in your favor though if you are angry. When you are angry your judgment will be clouded. You have to be able to think wisely to make sound judgment. The clearer you think the better the chance you have of accomplishing your objective. 

“He who is slow to anger has great understanding, But he who is quick-tempered exalts folly.”

‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭14:29‬ ‭NASB‬‬

Leave a Reply

