Sin in the Christian Life

A few weeks ago I came into my office and I noticed that there was a lamp on and the overhead light was off. I decided that I would keep it that way. It was kind of nice. I soon realized that this was not good for me. There was enough light from the lamp for me to do my job, at least I thought there was. I was able to type on the computer but if I needed to make a phone call I could not see the phone keypad. I realized that I needed to turn on the overhead light. Once there was no more darkness in the room I was able to fully function.

John tells us in 1 John 1:5 that God is the light and in Him there is no darkness. As Christians we cannot have it both ways. We cannot have light and darkness. If we have no light we are walking around in darkness. This means that we are away from God because He has no darkness. If we have dark and light, the darkness can overcome the light. The best possible scenario is to walk with God and let Him illuminate our paths and let Him overcome the darkness in our lives.

Many times Christians say they have fellowship with God but they continue walking in darkness. What do I mean by this? I am simply saying that sometimes Christians get caught up in sin in their lives. We allow Satan to sneak in and that darkness starts to overpower the light. Many times this happens slowly over a period of a long time. We commit one little sin and then we continue in that sin. We become so used to it that we start to justify it. We are just deceiving ourselves.

We have a better way though. God wants us to walk with Him. He wants us to get away from our sins. God has made a way for us to be cleansed from our past. He is a righteous God. If we confess our sins, He will forgive us. God is faithful to us and we should be faithful to Him. We cannot allow the darkness to creep back in.

Leave a Reply

